We are delighted to announce a stunning shortlist of design teams for the IMPACT Scotland concert venue in Edinburgh...

Six teams have been shortlisted to proceed to the second stage of this competition to design a new concert venue in the historic heart of Edinburgh's New Town.  In alphabetical order they are :

Adjaye Associates (London) with Sandy Brown, Buro Happold and DHA Designs

Allies & Morrison (London) with Charcoalblue, Speirs & Major, Harrison Stevens and Buro Happold

Barozzi Veiga (Switzerland) with Alan Baxter, Max Fordham, KahleAcoustics, 3DReid and Ian White Associates

David Chipperfield Architects (London) with Arup, Whitby Mohajer Engineers, GROSS MAX and Theatre Projects

KPMB Architects (Toronto) with Simpson & Brown Architects, David Narro Associates, Arup, Sound Space Vision, rankinfraser landscape architecture and Transsolar Energietechnik

Richard Murphy Architects (Edinburgh) with Arup, Graven Images, GROSS MAX and Montagu Evans

To secure their place on the shortlist, these six beat 63 other extraordinarily strong teams from across the globe, so huge congratulations are in order. 

The new venue will be home to the Scottish Chamber Orchestra and the brief specifies that the acoustics must 'rival any other classical venue in the world'.  To this end, the winning team will be working alongside renowned acoustician Dr Yasuhisa Toyota of Nagata Acoustics who has written the acoustic brief for the project. 

As well as being home to the SCO, the new venue will serve the many and assorted performers at the Edinburgh International Festival and act as a catalyst for visiting performing arts groups from a very broad range of musical and other genres, both local and international.  At its heart will be an open, public lobby, which will be a destination in its own right, with places to meet, to think, to eat and drink; as well as a place of welcome for visitors to concerts and events. 

It is hoped that a winner will be announced in April.

For further information about this fantastic project, please visit the competition webpage.